Tmp/cache needs to be manually cleared when developing plugins

(Atul Varma) #1

Hello! This is my first post, and I’m also completely new to rails, so apologies for any noobish mistakes I make here.

I was trying to get the simple Ubuntu OpenID plugin that @sam wrote working on my development discourse install, but while bundle exec rails s was clearly loading the code (I put some puts statements in there to make sure), there was no sign of its generated JavaScript assets being loaded in my browser.

After a few hours of tinkering and searching, I discovered comment #70 from @sohara mentioning that rm -rf tmp/cache fixed things for him, and this fixed things for me too!

However, I also noticed immediately after the comment that @sam mentioned that a bugfix had been applied which makes the need to manually clear tmp/cache obsolete. Upon reading the source for the bugfix, though, it appears that the code to automatically clear tmp/cache is only run during rake assets:precompile, which isn’t relevant to development. As far as I can tell, unless I am somehow doing development wrong, this means that tmp/cache still needs to be cleared when developing plugins (though not when deploying them).

Anyhow, I’m not sure if I’m doing development wrong, or if this is actually a bug, but I thought I’d mention it here.

P.S. - My original post contained more links that specifically referred to the comments I mentioned, but I was told after all this hard work that as a new user, I can only mention two links in a post, which was extremely frustrating. While I doubt I can convince anyone to drop such a “distrust-by-default” policy, it would be nice if the UI could inform users that they have too many links in real-time (rather than after they’ve peppered their post with helpful links and submitted the form), and it would also be nice if links to certain sites (such as other threads on the same discourse installation) could be exempted from the quota.