Trying to set up Discourse on Patreon but the url doesn't work!

(Maitri Libellule) #1

Help! i am not a techie person and my brains are falling out here. I am working on installing Discourse for Patreon. I have all of the api keys and am now trying to configure it but the url given to do this doesn’t work. This is the one given on the “Configuring Patreon integration with Discourse” page…

https://forum.example.com/admin/site_settings/category/plugins?filter=patreon

When I try to go there it says the page cannot be found. I have tried over and over, it just doesn’t work. Help! I really need to get this set up today. Thank you so much!

Maitri

(Michael Brown) #2

You need to replace ‘http://forum.example.com’ with the name of your site.

The easiest thing to do is to go up to your address bar, clear everything after the 3rd slash and replace it with:
admin/site_settings/category/plugins?filter=patreon

e.g. here on meta, I would go to:
https://meta.discourse.org/admin/site_settings/category/plugins?filter=patreon

(Maitri Libellule) #3

Ok thanks I got it now!

(Brendan Schlagel) #4

Hi Maitri, the URL needs to be the address of your forum — that settings page is for your Discourse installation, rather than for your Patreon page. Do you already have a Discourse forum set up? If not you’ll need to do that first! The Discourse Patreon plugin just connects the two together.

(Maitri Libellule) #5

Oh Brendan, no I don’t! It is all so confusing when you are a content creator and not a techie! Where do I go to do that? I’ll look but your help would be much appreciated! I am creating a worldwide support community for women and I know Discourse is just what we need.

(Maitri Libellule) #6

Oh okay I just found a site for the Discourse hosting, but I thought Discourse was a free platform? I read more than one place that it was free. What am I missing?