We performed an upgrade from version 2.0.0 to 2.1.6 yesterday.
Since then, our moderators and staff noticed a strange and bugging behaviour:
- When a user deletes his own post, the staff can still see it for the duration of the “delete removed posts after” setting (24h) to follow the conversation history
- When a moderator (or admin) deletes a post from a regular user (!), the post first gets the little “deleted by…” info icon, but after a refresh of the page, the post is removed completely from the thread (and the DOM). There is no “view 1 deleted post” notice, where the removed post was previously.
- But when a staff member removes a post from another staff member, it works and the post gets successfully replaced by the “view 1 deleted post” notice
- on the “deleted posts” subpage on a user profile, the removed post gets listed, but this is extremely cumbersome to work with
On a test forum with 2.1.3, this behaviour doesn’t exist. On 2.1.6, it does.
Either this is a setting I didn’t find (and we didn’t change when upgrading!), or this seems to be a bug.