What IDE is everyone using?

(cpradio) #1

Okay, so I’m an IDE junkie (yeah yeah, I blame the Microsoft frameworks). So what IDE does everyone use for their development?

Considering I’m completely new to ember.js and ruby, having a good IDE that will help me minimize my mistakes, is ideal.

My system setup:
Main PC: Debian Linux Wheezy
Laptop: Windows 7

Ideally, the IDE should run on both, but 99% of my development will be on my main PC, so if it only supports Linux, that’s cool too.

Currently, I’ve been using phpStorm, but obviously that is built for PHP development. I love the IDE, but spending extra to get get Ruby and PHP support might be a show stopper (I need to price that out).

Javascript IDE or dev environment
(Jeff Atwood) #2

I use RubyMine and like it

(Nathan Rijksen) #3

I use Komodo IDE but I am terribly biased, being one if its devs :wink:

I run Arch Linux as my daily driver and Komodo runs wonderfully on it, but it runs on OSX and Windows as well. It is based on Mozilla (like Firefox) and it does NOT use Java (people tend to associate cross-platform with Java).

(Sam Saffron) #4

I use Vim, my dev env is latest ubuntu running i3wm , my desktop is actually Windows 8 but I am constantly running a full screen VM.

My Vim setup is more or less here:

(Arpit Jalan) #5

I use Atom on MacBook Pro, and it’s awesome!

(Manthan Mallikarjun) #6

Sublime text anyone?

(Silver Quettier) #7

It really depends:

• How much “extra fluff” you want (templates, code completion, integration with various techs and langauges, internal webserver…) versus a more KISS text editor.
  • What languages you’re using.