Youtube embed size

(Tomo Vukasović) #1

I have searched the forum. No luck.

Embedded YouTube video size seems small for our forum taste. How can we increase this?

YouTube/Vimeo embed size controls in Settings
Youtube embed size, revisited
(Arpit Jalan) #2

The data-width and data-height attributes defines video embed size:

Great. Is there a way this attribute can be set in site settings? Also, is there an attribute that enables HD playback by default?

(Tomo Vukasović) #4

That sounds like a great plugin. Unfortunately, I have hard time with plugins since I am a complete beginner when it comes to ruby and docker setup. I understand the concept that plugin git needs to be added to app.yml

hooks:
  after_code:
    - exec:
        cd: $home/plugins
        cmd:
          - mkdir -p plugins
          - git clone https://github.com/discourse/docker_manager.git
          - git clone https://github.com/discourse/lazyYT.git

After this I simply:

./launcher rebuild app

Everything beyond this is a newbie unfriendly territory.

Firstly, I am not sure if I completed all steps properly since I done this blindly. After installation I am not sure where my plugin files are located.

The plugin is already included in Discourse so you donā€™t need to add it to the app.yml. Once the build/rebuild has completed then type:

./launcher ssh app

This will let you ssh into the actual docker instance and then you can go to /var/www/discourse/plugins/lazyYT and edit the attribute on the plugin.rb file. Unfortunately, when you rebuild the changes will disappear and you will have to edit it again.

(Tomo Vukasović) #6

I found it finally. Is it possible to view/edit this file through SFTP over SSH? I am not seeing www folder in var directory under DigitalOcean Ubuntu setup. Thanks a bunch.

(Jens Maier) #7

Remember, Docker is like a server inside your server. When you connect to your DigitalOcean droplet with SFTP, youā€™re in the ā€œouterā€ server, the Docker host. Butā€¦