Can I copy the Discourse CLA for my own project?

I have my very own GitHub project under the terms of General Public License version 3. I am willing to post it in App Store (Google Play, …) later, and I am concerned about the “GPL Trap”, that could prevent doing that.
By “GPL Trap” I mean the situation with VLC and App Store.

I am not a lawyer by myself, but a software developer. Am I allowed to use your CLA as a base for mine?

1 Like

Hi GamePad64 welcome to the forum

This is two different questions.

The CLA documents that a contributor agrees to let Discourse use their code.

The GNU GENERAL PUBLIC LICENSE is what makes Discourse open source.

AFAIK there would be no issue with your using the Discourse CLA as a base for yours.

I take it your main concern is the conflict between GPL and the app store’s DRM policy.

IANAL (talk to one) but my take is that if your code is using any Discourse code, the GPL will apply and you could have problems. If on the other hand your code is entirely your own you can license it as you see fit.

No, it doesn’t use the Discourse code and not connected to it in any way. It is a completely independent project, written in C++ and licensed under GPLv3.
I just found Discourse CLA to be well-written, so I want to apply its terms to contributors of my project. So, I am asking, if the the CLA text itself is copyrighted in some way (I didn’t see the copyright notice on its page, so…).

It is my understanding that content does not need a copyright notice for it to have copyright.

The CLA is not part of the Discourse repository so I don’t think the GPL applies to it.

I guess the best thing to do legal-wise is to get written permission to use it from a member of the @team

1 Like

@GamePad64

I think you can use Ghost’s CLA: https://github.com/TryGhost/Ghost/blob/master/.github/CONTRIBUTING.md