Control user(s): ability to use / access to <iframe> - how?

Hi guys.

Is it possible to control, to allow / deny, a given (specific) user ability to use iframe (for embedded videos, most obviously).

adding this, passed a while as I re-read myself. The least would be - if technically a burden of such size that almost impossible, then do it as staff VS everybody else or perhaps per trust level

And since I’m a complete novice - that same/similar question would apply to other aspects of user “powers” within Discourse. Is there a man page(s) which covers those bits?

I created a theme component that finds strava and garmin one-boxes and replaces them with iframes. If you have a fixed number of video sites you want to support, a similar solution might work:

1 Like

@pfaffman Are you sure that your reply has anything to do with my question?

I’m simply asking if with “regular” means of management, in Discourse, it is possible to dis/allow use (or digestion or rendering or whatever tech term is most appropriate) of iframe (or onebox or whatever the term/technique is called)

If you meant in the reply, that there is a code which one could re-purpose that way - then it’s not for me nor the likes of me, not a web dev.

But if @devel read here - only started to use Discourse but having many long years as an admin of whole lot of things, I wonder:

• how do you, did you decide on that “philosophical” aspect of user “freedom” to include any content (say, sticking to video purely for this)?

I my mind, thing as critical as embedded video content — which even hosts/providers of cannot 100% control themselves, the content of it — should(must) be finely controlled (as all different computer systems I know treat any such/similar critical feature) on per user/group basis.