Custom Field not working

Hi All,

I am fairly new to discourse and I am attempting to add a customs field but I am not able to,

Could someone please help me.

My code

after_initialize do

module ::Foo
  	 PLUGIN_NAME ||= -"discourse-myapi"
     STORE_NAME ||= "replies".freeze

class Engine < ::Rails::Engine
      engine_name PLUGIN_NAME
      isolate_namespace Foo

end
  end

require_dependency "application_controller"

class Foo::Example
  	class << self

def bump(id)
           cf_time = Time.zone.now 	
          DistributedMutex.synchronize("#{Foo::PLUGIN_NAME}-#{cf_time.iso8601}") do
          	user = User.find(id)
            user.custom_fields['signature_url'] = cf_time
            user.save!
            return user
          end
        end

end	
  end

class Foo::BarController < ::ApplicationController

requires_plugin Foo::PLUGIN_NAME

def custom_field_test
      begin
        user = Foo::Example.bump(1)
        render json: { user: user }
      rescue StandardError => e
        render_json_error e.message
      end
    end

end

Foo::Engine.routes.draw do'
    get  '/custom_field_test' => 'bar#custom_field_test'
  end

Discourse::Application.routes.append do
    mount ::Foo::Engine, at: '/myapiclass'
  end

end

Thanks

I am going to answer my own question here, since I kind of understand where I was making mistake in terms of my thinking process, and also a benefit of getting feedback from the rest of the team here, as well as for the benefit of new comers to custom_fields functionality in Discourse.

Basically I was making a mistake in thinking without investigation that after I create a custom field on User object by doing

user = User.find(1)
user.custom_fields[“test_field”] = " X X X X"
user.save

I was expecting the custom field to be created on the user object i.e. to become

custome_field_test_field

and I was doing:

user.custom_fields_test_field

But after investigating deeply, I found out that, custom_field is actually an object