Discourse setup on local server: PostgreSQL and setup script issues

Hello Discourse Community,
I am a newbie when it comes to docker and linux sysadmin tasks in general. I am trying to convince my company to use Discourse and they asked me a demo first. So here I am trying to bring it to life on our servers.
I’ve been attempting to set up Discourse on a local server and have encountered some issues that I’m hoping to get assistance with. Below is a summary of my setup and the steps I’ve taken so far:

System Setup:

• Operating System: Ubuntu 20.04.6 LTS
  • Docker Version: 24.0.5, build 24.0.5-0ubuntu1~20.04.1
  • Discourse Version: 3.2

Issue:
I followed the official guide for installing Discourse on a cloud server (discourse/docs/INSTALL-cloud.md at main · discourse/discourse · GitHub), but I’m running into errors with the discourse-setup script related to PostgreSQL.

Steps Taken:

1. I confirmed that PostgreSQL is running by checking the process list.
  2. I verified that PostgreSQL is listening on the correct port (5432) and that the Unix socket file exists.
  3. I encountered errors indicating that the “discourse” database and user already exist, but when I checked using the psql command, neither the database nor the user were listed.

Here the commands I used:

• Checked PostgreSQL processes: ps aux | grep postgres
  • Checked PostgreSQL listening port: sudo netstat -plunt | grep postgres
  • Checked Unix socket file: ls -l /var/run/postgresql/.s.PGSQL.5432
  • Attempted to drop the “discourse” database and user: su postgres -c 'psql -c "DROP DATABASE IF EXISTS discourse;"' and su postgres -c 'psql -c "DROP USER IF EXISTS discourse;"'
  • Listed databases and users: psql -c "\l" and psql -c "\du"

Errors Encountered:

• ERROR: database "discourse" already exists
  • ERROR: role "discourse" already exists
  • psql: error: FATAL: role "root" does not exist