Disk Space Taken between Postgres and Docker

Hello guys!

I have a doubt regarding disk space and I hope someone can throw some light into this for me, as I’m not very experienced as a Linux SysAdmin.

My server (40GB) is running out of space, I usually control very extensively our uploads and stuff until I finally do the move of switching everything to AWS S3. The values were always normal until a a week or so ago when it started to go up (that’s when I updated to 2.0)

The Space is being taken between two directories, one is: /var/discourse/shared/standalone (taking 17.1GiB), divided as such:

7.1GiB [##########] /postgres_data
    5.0GiB [#######   ] /backups
    4.3GiB [######    ] /log
  573.8MiB [          ] /uploads
   93.3MiB [          ] /redis_data

I did some research and found a similar case: https://meta.discourse.org/t/disk-space-usage-by-postgres/61137/4

In my case, however, postgres gives back an error saying that there is no “backup” to drop.

And the other: /var/lib/docker (18.7GiB), divided as such:

11.6GiB [##########] /containers
    7.1GiB [######    ] /aufs

(Where the 11.6GiB of /containers are being taken by a sole container, and “aufs” is divided between 4.2GiBs for /diff and 2.9Gib for /mnt)

With this one I also read around and did the commands recommended by the Team, like “./launcher cleanup” but only cleaned 100 or so MBs.

Is there a way, technique, procedure or something that I’m missing? Inside the Discourse Installation it only marks 219MB for Uploads and 4.15GB for Backups.

Right now I’m at 93% disk usage and I fear that the installation will collapse without disk space at any moment.

Thanks in advance for any help and mostly for your patience

Try

. /launcher cleanup

@pfaffman that was already tried:

2 Likes

Oops. Thanks, @michaeld. I should probably not post before I’m awake.