How to convince my university to use/install Discourse?

Hi all, I’m a student in a french university.
I would really like to convince my department (~100 students) to use Discourse as an organisation and communication tool.

Currently we have not such tool, teachers and contributors only use mails.

One of our teacher use a Google Drive folder, but it does not suit her requirements. It’s also verry hard for us (students) to feel concerned and interact with our teacher via google drive.
She has ask me about web tools to improve project and courses management. I have an opportunity to introduce Discourse to her and the others students.

What could be the best argument for teachers and students ?
(One you can’t know is that we learn Ruby on Rails at 1rst semester)

3 Likes

One argument might be that it is battle-tested in academic use: We have been using Discourse as a discussion tool for lectures and courses for multiple years now, and our experience has been almost entirely positive. (The only real pain points have been in handling incoming emails from external users, which is a pretty advanced use and a relatively new feature.)

These courses had up to 500 students, and Discourse seems to have been liked by the students. Without having concrete numbers, I’d say that engagement was noticeably higher than with the phpBB-based boards we used before. :slight_smile:

Another argument is extensibility. For one course, we have a web-based tool that students are expected to use. It was pretty easy to develop a small plugin so file sharing links to this web platform integrate nicely into Discourse. It looks like this (but is interactive):

This is especially true if you are working with Ruby on Rails anyways :slight_smile:

9 Likes

It’s hard to convince universities to do anything. I used Discourse to teach my online classes. Two of my clients have done the same.