How to use staff tags properly?

Hi, I would like to be learned how to use staff tags…

As an admin, I created staff tag:
%D0%B8%D0%B7%D0%BE%D0%B1%D1%80%D0%B0%D0%B6%D0%B5%D0%BD%D0%B8%D0%B5

Then I tried to create another tag with the similar name and it does not show me matches:

Next, I created a tag community, then go to the main page, refresh it and open composer. There is no community tag in the field tag until it was used at least once:

Questions:

1. It allows me to set name with a space which is not allowed in composer. Should be the same behavior, isn’t it? Discourse automatically replaced space into minus, but did not do that on admin page.
  2. What tags are matched during tag creation? Why I don’t see any variants?
  3. As a staff (I use the same user, both admin and moderator), I cannot see just created tag until it was used at least once?

Discourse 2.0b5

1 Like

Can you repro this problem @jomaxro

1 Like

I can repro this. The staff tags site setting does allow spaces. The composer also allows tags with spaces, but automatically replaces spaces with - on topic creation. However, if help wanted is added to staff tags, users can create a topic with help-wanted as the tag, just not help wanted. These seem to be bugs with the tag chooser, not staff tags itself cc @joffreyjaffeux

Not sure what is being asked here…

Correct - that is the standard behavior of tags. They don’t appear until they are used.

2 Likes

Sorry for poor explain. This is a misunderstanding point. For instance, as moderator, I have to exactly know the name of new tag created by admins, if that tag haven’t used yet. Example: admin told that they created a new staff tag ‘sun-of-the-beach’. Moderator could recognize it as ‘son-of-the-b#$@h’. If moderator will make a typo in staff tag, which not used yet, that tag will be created as new public tag.