Invitations should be compatible with SSO

As an admin, I want to be able to invite non-registered users to my Discourse site that uses SSO for authentication so that they can be added to a group on account creation.

Currently, there is no way to specify user groups to which a user should belong before creating them. Well, actually, there is – inviting users. But if a Discourse installation uses SSO, the invitation system is disabled. As a result, I have to wait for users to first manually sign in via SSO before I can add them to groups. This creates a two-step effort to get users access to the content they need right away, introduces unnecessary delay, and leaves a bad first impression of Discourse for those users.

Ultimately, it seems like the invitation system needs to be made compatible with SSO.

18 Likes

Maybe this can be implemented in the same way as other SSO features: with a link to the resource which is providing “invites”?

At the moment we have two following SSO “plug-ins”:

• sso not approved url
  • logout redirect

Hence, there can be an invite url for external invite system?

I don’t really understand how this would work. Since the parent site has to create the account before it is handed to us, how exactly does an invitation URL work in that scenario? Can you describe how it would work, step by step starting with how the URL is formed in the email invite?

I am sympathetic to @downey’s original request here. Its less about invitations and more about “pre-staging” of particular emails into a group. It can be technically done but requires a new place to store this information.

I guess

1. On discourse side we store a directive saying that bob.bob@gmail.com goes in the “superman” group
  2. After sign in from sso we trigger a group refresh if its meets 1)

Its tricky but doable.

4 Likes