Is there a better way to make an ajax request from a theme component?

I’ve built a theme component that renders when you’re viewing a user’s profile. It makes an ajax request to a separate website (which I control) to check whether the discourse user has an account there (sending the discourse user id in the url). If so, it renders a link to their account on that website.

It’s working, but I’m fairly certain it’s awful hackery that would make a discourse developer sick! So I wanted to ask whether there’s a better way to do it? I’m a JavaScript and ruby developer, but I’ve never worked with Ember (I’ve used Vue, Backbone, and React).

<script type="text/discourse-plugin" version="0.8.7">
    const {ajax} = require('discourse/lib/ajax')

api.registerConnectorClass('user-profile-primary', 'custom-profile-link', {
      setupComponent(args, component) {
        args.model.get('fetchPersonnelMember')
      }
    })

api.modifyClass('model:user', {
      fetchPersonnelMember: function () {
        console.log('running!', ajax)
        const urlTemplate = settings.personnel_lookup_url // e.g. "https://api.29th.org/members?discourse_id=%s"

const url = urlTemplate.replace(/%s/, this.id)
        return ajax(url).then((result) => {
            if (result.status == true && result.member.id) {
              this.setProperties({personnelMember: result.member})
            }
          })
      }.property('id'),

personnelLinkUrl: function () {
        if (this.personnelMember) {
          const viewUrlTemplate = settings.personnel_view_url // e.g. "https://personnel.29th.org/#members/%s"
          return viewUrlTemplate.replace(/%s/, this.personnelMember.id)
        }
      }.property('personnelMember'),

personnelLinkName: function () {
        return this.personnelMember ? this.personnelMember.short_name : ''
      }.property('personnelMember')
    })
</script>

<script type='text/x-handlebars' data-template-name='/connectors/user-profile-primary/custom-profile-link'>