Mentioning non-user emails / altering @-mention functionality

Hello,

Love your work Discourse team, keep it up.

I’m a journalist from Australia working on a Discourse-based platform for investigative journalism teams.

I chose Discourse because it offers thoughtful community management, email and Slack support, core-supported Patreon support and API write functionality for scrapers.

I’m also looking to integrate Freedom of Information (FOI) requests into topics ‘inline’ to allow teams to manage large quantities of requests in a structured Discourse forum.

By way of background, an FOI request is just a formal request to the government for information. They typically consist of two or three emails back and forth between a government department and a requester over a month or two.

So far I’ve got a ‘hacky’ version working by just creating users with the Freedom of Information contact emails and @-mentioning them. But the need to not ‘leak’ information means it hobbles the @-mention feature for other users.

I wondered whether it was worth considering an ‘@-mention’-like feature specifically for this purpose, ie something like an ‘^-request’.

Has anyone come across any plugins or extensions expanding or editing the @-mention functionality that I can review as a guide?

If not, I was going to start by hacking into here and here, but open to suggestions.

Thanks, appreciate your time.

Regards,
Jackson

1 Like

Can you elaborate on exactly how you see this working step by step? I am a little confused as to the desired workflow.

I’m thinking you want to make the “Freedom of Information contact emails” into tags, not fake users.

Thanks Jeff, Eli,

There are a few alternative executions but this is how the simplest one would work:

That is, there is a separate category for ‘Requests’ and in each Request topic there would be a reply by email conversation with the external government department.