Modifying Privacy Policy to conform with EU law

I’m trying to formulate a privacy policy for those of us who are neither lawyers nor an organization large enough to hire any, but do care about privacy. I need the privacy policy to conform to my country’s privacy laws.

This task is similar to adopting it to the EU’s General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). This law won’t come into force quite yet, but I’m sure quite a few Discourse administrators will need to adopt their privacy policy to it anyways. Therefore I’m creating this topic about the questions concerning this. Be aware that I’m not an expert. My comments consist mainly of assumptions and questions.

There have been topics with similar questions, but I haven’t found any answers

https://meta.discourse.org/t/default-ip-log-retention-time/42135
https://meta.discourse.org/t/faq-privacy-policy-for-non-english-discourse/19412
https://meta.discourse.org/t/data-retention-policy-implementation/38470
(As a new user my link count per post is restricted.)

The most relevant parts of the law are Article 12–13 (beginning on page one in [this]http://eur-lex.europa.eu/legal-content/EN/TXT/PDF/?uri=OJ:L:2016:119:FUL PDF document; more easily accessable on this web page). I don’t think Article 14 applies.

Article 12 states, among other things, that information all information related to the Privacy Policy should be in “in a concise, transparent, intelligible and easily accessible form, using clear and plain language, in particular for any information addressed specifically to a child.”

Article 13 is about “Information to be provided where personal data are collected from the data subject”. It states:

1. Where personal data relating to a data subject are collected from the data subject, the controller shall, at the time when personal data are obtained, provide the data subject with all of the following information: