Push custom events to Google Tag Manager and Analytics

Continuing the discussion from Setup Google Tag Manager for Analytics:

:warning: This guide is a wiki. I am far from an expert in using Google Tag Manager or Google Analytics. If you are an expert at using GTM, feel free to edit the topic, or reply to the topic with suggestions for improvements. If there are particular events that you are wanting to track, let us know and we’ll see what can be done to push them onto the Data Layer.

To configure your Discourse site to push page view events to Google Tag Manager and Google Analytics, follow the steps outlined here: Setup Google Tag Manager for Analytics - admins - Discourse Meta. After completing those steps, you should see data about the title and URL of Discourse page views on your analytics page.

In this topic I will outline how to add custom events to the data that is sent to GTM and Analytics. Note that this topic assumes you have entered your site setting and updated your site’s content security policy script src setting to allow the Google scripts to run on the site.

Adding Discourse events to the GTM Data Layer

Note: when you enable GTM on Discourse by adding your tag manager ID to your Discourse gtm container id setting, a dataLayer object will be created. You can push new events onto the data_layer to make them available on GTM. If you are just testing the script below without having set your gtm container id , you’ll need to initialize the data_layer object in your script.

Discourse fires numerous events when users perform an action on the site. Some of these events will be useful for analytics. The code below handles the following events:

• page:bookmark-post-toggled
  • topic:created
  • page:like-toggled
<script type="text/discourse-plugin" version="0.11.0">
// This should only be required if the gtm_container_id hasn't been set, but it is probably