Secure media and optimized images?

Hi all:

New admin just coming to terms with Discourse. I’ve recently enabled the “enable s3 uploads” and the “secure media” features in my 2.6.0.beta4 installation. it appears to be working – I can upload images and they are served from s3 with an expiry token set (was expecting them to get served from a URL on my discourse server, but that appears to only be the case for non-image uploads).

I say it appears to be working, however it doesn’t seem to be working exactly how it did when I was using a local store for image uploads. In particular, the “optimized” functionality doesn’t seem to be working. Pardon me if I’m using the incorrect terms here, I’m still learning. But basically, pre-migration to s3/secure settings, I’d see the behavior where the “lightbox” functionality was utilized and you’d be served a smaller image in a responsive lightbox frame, and you could choose to see the original image if you so wished.

Now it doesn’t seem like the optimized images are made, with the exception of avitar images. But when making a new post, when a user uploads an image, it just stores the image in /original/1x and there’s no corresponding optimized images created in /optimized/1x. And so when viewing the post, there’s just a simple image embed to the original image.

Is this correct behavior when configured this way? I haven’t been able to find a post that addresses this directly, and haven’t seen anyone else complaining about it. Any information someone could provide would be appreciated.

1 Like

I’m wondering if the question I asked is a FAQ or I asked it in a unclear way. Can anyone spot any problems with what I’m asking, if it’s not clear what I’m trying to achieve?

1 Like

Your question is clear and searching for “secure media optimized images” on Meta isn’t returning any useful results, so it’s not a FAQ.