Embedding an AppEngine-hosted web app via IFRAME

Hi all - I’m new to Discourse, and just figuring things out. We run a large computer science education nonprofit, and are looking to move our online teacher discussions from Google Groups to Discourse.

I’ve successfully embedded other cloud-based tools into topics already, by:

1. Whitelisting their domains
  2. Making a new topic
  3. Using <iframe src="<whitelisted domain>"></iframe> in the body of the topic

However, I’ve been unable to embed our own cloud-based IDE. The IFRAME shows up blank. A quick trip to the developer tools shows that the http request went out, but was denied with error 307 - Internal Redirect (see attached screenshot). My theory is that this is happening because our domain points to an AppEngine instance, so a redirect is happening behind the scenes and Discourse is blocking it for security reasons. Evidence to support this theory: embedding the AppEngine instance itself works, but using the domain doesn’t.

Since we periodically update the instance, it’s very important that the normal URL works. I’ve searched through other topics on the forum to no avail. Anyone got any advice for a n00b?

Thanks in advance!

3 Likes

@Emmanuel_Schanzer

1. why are you using the version number? You can simply use your application id which will, by default point to active version
  2. What type of ago are you hosting in app engine? Are you just trying to have your discourse to have a link to your app engine app? If so, check my forum at community.AppyBuilder.com. make sure you are viewing in desktop mode. If in desktop mode, you’ll see a puzzle block Icon at top right. Clicking on it will open our app engine app. Check and see if that’s what you are looking for
2 Likes