Wordpress avatars from Discourse when Discourse is the SSO provider

I have Wordpress with Discourse setup where Discourse is the DiscourseConnect provider for WP. I’m using the WP Discourse plugin and it’s working great so far. The only issue I have encountered so far is that I can’t get the avatar images from Discourse to display in WP.

I have tried to implement the solution in Could you update user avatar for wordpress plugin sso? - #2 by angus - adding the code to my WP site’s function.php file. But it’s not working for me - I don’t know what code to add to set the avatar.

I’m wondering if anyone has gotten this to work? I’m using the Simple Local Avatar plugin, but I’m happy to change it if anyone has been successful with another plugin.

Hey @uffehe

What code are you adding and how does the Simple Local Avatar plugin save avatars?

Hi @angus

I’m not a developer so I’m kind of guessing here, but as I understand it the Simple Local Avatar plugin normally adds the image to the media library. I couldn’t find much documentation on how it works if it’s supplied via a URL. The code I’m trying looks like this:

add_filter( 'wpdc_sso_client_updated_user', 'my_wpdc_sso_client_updated_user', 10, 2 );
function my_wpdc_sso_client_updated_user( $updated_user, $query ) {
    if (isset($query['avatar_url'])) {
        $new_avatar_url = $query['avatar_url'];

$avatar_data = array(
            'full' => $new_avatar_url,  // URL of the new avatar image
        );
        update_user_meta($updated_user, 'simple_local_avatar', $avatar_data);
    }
}

This gives me an unhandled exception when I try to log in using SSO.

I could probably hire a developer to help me, but it seems that this would be a pretty common use case that others might have already implemented - even if not with this plugin.