A question about how decentralization works, specifically with Discourse

disclaimer - tech newbie here, sorry
also, would really appreciate if the answers to this had as few guesses as possible, only “know for sure” answers if that’s okay, thank you in advance

I recently learned that Discourse is decentralized. While I find decentralized networks cool, I had one question in mind about them. As a newbie, whenever I hear “decentralized”, I picture lots of servers across the world, and connections randomly going through them, without a centered server. Does “decentralized” mean that Discourse (or any forum based on it) needs to go through more servers or “points of connection” than a centralized network would need to? (am I making more connections across the world, than if I was uing something centralized?)
is it going through several servers at a time, or is it rather one server at a time, but a random one? Or does each community that has a Discourse-based forum have it’s own designated server that is always being used by them?
is all of this unique to each decentralized platform (other than Discourse)?

thanks in advance to anyone who answers, and I’m sorry if this is a headache to explain this to a newbie :smiling_face_with_tear:

3 Likes

I don’t think Discourse is decentralized in that context. It is just another (self ) hosted app, as WordPress.

But we have a plugin that allow a forum be part of decentralized system, like with Mastodon-servers or another Discources (using same plugin).

3 Likes

This is the case. Different Discourse forums don’t communicate. (Other than the Fediverse/Mastodon integration mentioned, but I wonder if that’s a distraction from the main question, or the root of the question.)

3 Likes

Yes it is as Ed_S mentioned.

When you create an account on each Discourse forum, it is unique to that forum. Each time if you want to join a different Discourse forum, you make a completely new, unrelated account.

3 Likes