Anonymous User Groups

My forum is going to have a lot of private topics locked under categories with groups. It’s a classroom setting, so anonymous posting is pretty important. The problem is groups don’t port over when a user switches to anonymous (as can be expected).

I’ve never written a plugin before but it seems this can best be done with a plugin. When a user turns anonymous, an account is created, I assign all their current groups to the anon. Will this work? I use the API to assign and remove groups. Can I have a trigger to also apply these changes to the anonymous user?

Are there any other implications that I am not seeing?

It might be possible to test the concept by using a Data Explorer query that returns a list of anonymous usernames that are associated with the real users who are members of given group. You could then use the Bulk Add to Group functionality to add the users to the group.

Here’s a query that will return the anonymous usernames of the real users who are members of a group. You need to supply the value of the group_name parameter before running the query.

--[params]
-- string :group_name

WITH target_users AS (
SELECT
user_id AS master_user_id
FROM group_users gu
JOIN groups g
ON g.id = gu.group_id
WHERE g.name = :group_name
)

SELECT
u.username
FROM target_users tu
JOIN anonymous_users au
ON au.master_user_id = tu.master_user_id
JOIN users u
ON u.id = au.user_id

Running the query will return results that look something like this if any members of the group have entered anonymous mode:

If you are not dealing with a huge number of users, you can just copy and paste the usernames into the group’s Bulk Add form:

You need to be aware of the anonymous account duration minutes site setting. It sets the length of time that anonymous accounts will persist for after a user has left anonymous mode.