Building an Amazon Discourse pilot, planning for scale

Having looked at a few different platforms, I think that Discourse will be the best platform for our volunteer group.

I’m not fully sure how best to build it so that it is very cheap to run for the first few months of piloting, but then can easily scale to perhaps a few hundred concurrent users.

Is this the best way, or are there any drawbacks to using pre-packaged amazon discourse?
https://aws.amazon.com/marketplace/pp/B00JDSK2T4

I don’t really understand this thread but it seems important; Document for installing on AWS ECS

I have no experience with Docker and my linux skillz are limited to googling, Crtl C Ctrl V.

In terms of add-ons/plug ins, I would like

• a voting app that supports single transferable votes and also allows users with different roles to vote on different topics
  • a chat/status plug-in such as babble (maybe there’s a better one?)
  • a ‘suggestions/ideas’ app where members can propose ideas and vote on all ideas with a certain number of votes based on their role/contributions to the community
  • suggestions as to the best way to verify identity; we currently have a volunteer database in a CRM and we would like to only allow CRM Contacts with a certain field ticked to have access to discourse, and for voting it’s important to use to tie each discourse account to a real identity (no issues creating active directory/LDAP if there’s any benefit in that?)

A previously used check list/task list for the installation/testing that someone might be willing to share?

Thanks for all advice and any questions.