'bundle exec rake db:migrate' taking a long time due to calendar migration

Hi all, hoping for some help!

Has anyone experienced this before?

./launcher rebuild app is running, get’s to this point and just hangs here.

Now it is doing something, but it’s doing it extremely slowly. I’ve been running the forum via a self installed digital ocean droplet for 3 years now, but this is new and is causing a lot of downtime. Is there a way to smooth this out? Is it to do with images on the forum or something?

Can you please open another SSH session and try to find which migration is causing trouble?

Something like ps aux | grep postgres should show the start of it.

1 Like

I am not a Linux expert (or frankly, even an amateur one) but I’ll try.

1 Like

Running out of memory is my guess. You can try

free -h

Maybe also

du -hs /var/discourse/shared/standalone/*
1 Like

Memory (RAM) or Diskspace?

Should be loads of both I would think - Droplet is: 8 GB Memory / 4 Intel vCPUs / 160 GB Disk + 200 GB / Ubuntu 18.04.3 (LTS) x64

Is it “safe” to open another SSH session and run those while this db:migrate is still running?

If I were you would start by getting a new VPS with an OS that still has active support.

Yes.

Okay - please understand I am NOT a linux expert - your post intimates that the current ubuntu build is super out of date etc?

Yes, the OS dates from April 2018 and was supported for 5 years, so that ended over 6 months ago.

2 Likes

Appreciate the info.

As someone who freely admits I’m an amateur doing his best - any recommendations for what I should do next?

The db:migrate failed - message was:

client_loop: send disconnect: Connection reset

On logging back in, you’re quite right:

New release ‘20.04.6 LTS’ available.
Run ‘do-release-upgrade’ to upgrade to it.

Considering my forum is currently down, am I safe to do the upgrade, and then worry about fixing the forum? or should I try and get that back online first?

:thinking: That’s an SSH error…