Can I change the URL of the main logo?

For example, let’s say I wanted the logo to point to forum.example.com/latest instead of forum.example.com, how would I do that? Is that something I can change easily without needing a developer? Discourse is hosting my forum, if that makes any difference.

The reason I want that is because I want my default forum page when someone goes on the forum to be the “Categories” page so the forum is less intimidating. But I want them to go on the “Latest” page once they click on the logo.

This should work in a theme:

<script type="text/discourse-plugin" version="0.4">
    api.changeWidgetSetting('home-logo', 'href', '/latest')
</script>
3 Likes

Thanks! Since I’m a noob, could you specify where to paste this? I assume it’s not where the CSS goes?

Goes into the HEAD section to the right of the CSS one. You can learn about it on Developer’s guide to Discourse Themes

4 Likes

sorry for the necro, but how do i make this open into a new tab instead of self? is the target blank usable here?

This takes a little more customization because it’s prevented in the home-logo widget here:

So you’d have to use changeWidgetSetting to set the URL, and then reopenWidget to add _blank and override the default click behavior that prevents it from opening in a new window.

<script type="text/discourse-plugin" version="0.8">
  const { h } = require("virtual-dom");

api.changeWidgetSetting('home-logo', 'href', 'https://discourse.org');

api.reopenWidget("home-logo", {
     html() {
       return h(
         "a",
         { attributes: { href: this.href(), "data-auto-route": true, "target": "_blank" } },
         this.logo()
       );
     },

click(e) {
       return;
     },
   });
</script>
4 Likes