Can plugins achieve selective reply visibility within topics, and how can I create one?

Hello community,

Discourse is an excellent forum with much functionality. I’m interested in finding out if there’s a way to let users to manually select the audience for their replies to a particular topic. While I am aware that there is a woderful “discourse-private-reply” plugin that can limits reply visibility to the topic creator, I am looking for a more fine-grained solution.

To clarify, supposing that I’m composing a reply whthin a topic, I would like to be able to create a whitelist of users who can see my reply before I click the ‘POST’ button. Essentially, I want to ensure that only the users I have selected are able to see my reply, while all others cannot.

Personally, I am a developer with some programming skills, but I have never worked on any Discourse plugin development before. If there are no existing plugins or tools that can provide the level of control I’m looking for, I would greatly appreciate any advice or guidance on the development approach, such as which “process” I should hook or which APIs I should call in order to achieve the desired functionality.

Any suggestions or insights would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time and help!

5 Likes

With the need for such fine grained access, you might need to consider if a regular public topic is the best solution. Maybe you can tell a bit more about your specific use case?

A good starting point would indeed be my private-replies plugin. I has a function called can_see_post_if_author_among which currently takes a topic. You should modify it to take a post. You should store the allowed users with the post in a custom field and then check the viewing user against that list.

The plugin also overrides the access control logic for raw posts, search, topic views and user profile activity.