Change category "tracking" subscription to "watching" if I post a reply

I’d like the following behavior, but don’t know if it’s possible. I have a “tracking” subscription for a certain category, so I get an email when a new topic is made. I reply in some topics, but not all. I would like to start receiving emails for all replies once I reply in a topic that isn’t mine. Currently, I don’t. I have to check the topic manually, or manually change my subscription to “watching”.

On other forum software that is normal behaviour (emails on every reply after I posted a reply, but not before). Is that possible on Discourse?

I’m running 1.8.0.beta10+57.

Have you checked your User Preferences?

2 Likes

Yes, that is already set. Something else must be going on then (emailing works fine, tons of notifications for other events).

Does the fact that I set the category on “Tracking” affect it?

I did another test in a category which I have on “Tracking”. Created a new topic from the API using the “system” user. The topic is set as “Tracked”. Then I posted a reply. The topic remained as “Tracked” (did not change to “Watching”).

Yup, that seems to be the case in my sandbox. If I have the category as Normal, it works, but once you set it to Tracking, it fails to change the topic subscription to watching.

2 Likes

That doesn’t sound like expected behaviour, right?

Once a user changes the notification level manually it is never overridden. The idea being the user wanted it that way when they set it.

And if you wanted to see the code, this is where it is done.
https://github.com/discourse/discourse/blob/master/app/models/topic_user.rb#L40-L52

The TopicUser.where is returning an item, thus it isn’t changing the notification.

You can also see more about said feature in this PR (so you can see how it trickles down to the auto_notification definition.
https://github.com/discourse/discourse/pull/4477/commits/6f1c31d777b5b8817baa29e396cc3c0d646e54fa