Command line disable Two Factor Authentication

Hello everyone,
I have mistake that i delete Google Authentication Discourse on Mobile so Now i can’t login to Discourse.
My question is … Can we disable Two Factor Authentication by command line SSH ?
Thank you!

1 Like

What happened to your backup codes?

I delete my Google authentication

And i don’t save backup code

Yes, you can do this by updating the enforce_second_factor site setting to “no”. Enter the rails console and run:

SiteSetting.enforce_second_factor = "no"

The available options for that setting are “no”, “staff”, and “all”.

3 Likes

I want to disable two factor authentication all of account Discourse

I am a newbie, and have the same problem. I deleted Factor Authentication on my phone without saving the backcode.
Currently I cannot log in to the admin. Currently, I have no other staff to disable it from dasboard.
Can anyone explain more about how to use this command ?:

Thanks you

You need SSH terminal access to the server that Discourse is running on to proceed. Do you have that?

Yes, I have it, but I don’t know how with that command. Need to go to the Rails console? In fact, I don’t know how Rails works.

To access the rails console, ssh into your server. To do that, open a terminal on your computer and run:

ssh root@<your_forum_ip_address>

Replace <your_forum_ip_address> with the IP address of your Discourse site.

If that command is successful, you will see a prompt that looks something like this. Your IP address, or droplet name will be displayed instead of the word testeleven:

root@testeleven:~#

Type cd /var/discourse and hit your enter key.

Now type ./launcher enter app and hit the enter key.

You should see a prompt that ends with something similar to this: /var/www/discourse#

At that prompt, type rails c and hit your enter key. You should now see a prompt that looks similar to this: pry(main)> . This is the rails console.