Contabo experience with Plesk, Webmin or other server-admin setup?

Hey guys! Can someone comment about experience and gotchas of hosting with Contabo.com?
They seem very affordable, but have a pretty “old-school” admin panel and offer to install Plesk or Webmin.

Does it even make sense to install such tools (if I’m not going to host apps like Wordpress or resell hosting on the same machine)?

What are the benefits and downsides of using Plesk or Webmin or some other admin tool on the server dedicated for Discourse instance?

What is the recommended and sufficient set of tools to install for monitoring and maintenance of a Discourse-only machine?

I’m new to such tools and will appreciate any advice on good server management and monitoring practices.

EDIT: I reviewed the following topics, but still your input to questions above is very appreciated.

Your life will be much easier if you don’t try to work with such tools. It’s possible, but if you’re not going to use them to continue to change your configuration they bring nothing to the party.

I’ve written most of a rails app that will install Discourse, but have been too busy working to get it finished

Usually upgrades can be done from Discourse’s web interface,though sometimes running a command from a shell is required. Monitoring did you can do with whatever tools the hosting service provides (digital ocean has some pretty graphs) or use a third party service.

6 Likes

Thanks, @pfaffman! I see, folks at CDCK use both Prometheus and Pingdom (which can get quite pricey).

Can someone point me to a post/article about running a large Discourse forum with a balanced view on using paid & FOSS tools for monitoring and tuning the performance?

For the most part, people with experience driving large forums are too busy running them to write much about it.

Mostly, you need ram and fast cpu and ssd.

What does large mean? How many users, posts, page views?

Makes sense :slight_smile: