Copyright issue in Wiki post

1. If the user delete a Wiki post created by itself, but it has been edited by others, how can other users protect their copyright?

2. If a user self-wiki its post, other users edit it, then that user remove wiki and delete other users’ content by editing that post, how can other users protect their copyright?

2 Likes

Hi @Teafh :wave: welcome :slight_smile:
hmm. copyright? what do you mean by this? Are you saying your posts are copyrighted? I wonder if this is a translation issue. Do you just mean post ownership? I’m not understanding what you are asking? Wiki posts are meant for others to be able to edit.

3 Likes

What is in your terms of service for your website?

I’m no lawyer but you are strongly advised to consider a Creative Commons licence - which essentially involves users giving up exclusive rights to content when they post on your website, e.g.:

3. User Content License

User contributions are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

“Creative Commons licenses are legal tools that help you grant copyright permissions to the general public.”

So I read that as posters losing exclusive copyright and it becomes material which can be used elsewhere so long as the website is attributed.

(I’ve just noticed that licence is slightly out of date, btw, there’s a new version 4.0)

4 Likes

Oh and this entry in my Terms of Service is very relevant to the OP:

“Specifically, Merefield Technology has the right and will sometimes re-arrange user contributions to better organise content for the benefit of the community, usually by means of Moderation Tools. When you post on this site be aware of this. Merefield Technology does not need your permission to do this and you must expect this to happen on occasion.”