Create background gradient overlay on page, making the discussion area white

I’ve added a subtle .svg background PATTERN (which repeats) to my theme CSS, using the following code:

body {
background:url(https://forums.pickleballist.com/uploads/default/original/1X/b7df60bb8a3fd1584f393dee365865ca83e4906e.svg) center top;
background-size: 300px auto;
}

The default .wrap area in a new Discourse installation is max-width: 1110px; Currently my background is a little distracting to the conversation text in the middle of the page (the main content area).

I would like to have the main-outlet, center area where text and discussions are taking place, 0% opaque in the very center, showing just a white background, and then apply some kind of gradient that gradually increases the opacity of my background to 100%, which would show the background around all the edges.

This is currently how my background appears… at 100% opacity, on the entire page…

Here’s what I would like to have happen…
I’d like the general area (doesn’t have to be exact), outlined in red, to have my background with 0% opacity, thus leaving the default, completely white background. (idk, but this may require a bi-linear horizontal gradient overlay to my background that would go from #FFFFFF (white) in the center, to transparent on the edges)

Here’s an example of what I’d like the page to look like…

I can accomplish this :arrow_up:︎ using a background image that’s not an svg but it was so granulated. I wanted a high quality images as my background so I’m currently using the svg.

If anyone has an idea of how I could make these adjustments, I would love to hear your thoughts!

2 Likes

Perhaps @Johani or @awesomerobot can advise here?

2 Likes

Right, a gradient overlay is probably the best approach… you can define two backgrounds at once like this:

body {