Database migrations and git flow

Hi there, folks.

I am currently migrating some forum to Discourse.
I have zero experience with RoR development, so I have few questions about Discourse and its infrastructure.

First of all, I’m planning to use the Discourse forum as-is, without custom plugins or source code modifications.
I, however, would like to write database migrations from time to time to simplify data transition from the staging instance of a forum to the production one.
I want to put these migrations in a git repository to fetch and apply them when rebuilding the app.

I would like to know the “true” way of achieving that.
Any help is highly appreciated, and links for further reading are welcome too.

I wrote a couple discourse importers before I knew ruby, so that’s good news. Just start with an importer that has the features you want and change the database queries, basically.

The importers have code to let you run them against a newer database, skipping the data imported already. Typically you’ll just run the importer on your development machine and upload the database to the production machine.

Having the production machine live and then importing more data is to be avoided.

2 Likes

Thanks, Jay.

I think there is a misunderstanding: I already have all the data required on the new Discourse-based forum.

I am just looking for the proper way to keep migrations I will write in the future in a separate repo and to apply them when rebuilding the Docker container with the forum.

What migrations? Did you modify discourse? I guess I will don’t understand your question.

If you’ve modified discourse it should be in a plugin and it should just work.

@pfaffman, I do not modify Discourse.

I do not wish to manually apply changes via the administration panel both on the production and the staging servers, but to use migrations for it.

Example use-case: I need to modify contents of the default email templates.

Here is the preferred flow: