Troubles moving from XenForo to Discourse

Hi, starting at step 7, I’m running into trouble. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I’ve never worked with Ruby before, so there may be some obvious steps needed right before step 7 that I just don’t know about due to lack of experience. Forgive me if this question comes across as naive.

When I run:

I get the following result:

-bash: Gemfile: Permission denied

This is on a brand new server with a working install of Discourse.

Are there other components or pieces of software I need to install to get the steps starting at 7 to work?

And I noticed this thread is from a few years ago originally. Is every step in the OP still correct?

Thanks!

Ok, I had a full post submitted here but I removed it because as I dig into this more, I realized that I had a serious misunderstanding of how dockers work with the Discourse install. My previous post would have confused people because, basically I didn’t know what I was talking about. :joy:

I was adding the import files manually to /var/discourse/ directory when I should have been looking for them within the docker. A clear mistake looking back at it, but I was pretty confused at the time. That could be more clear in the instructions, but I managed to figured that out and solve my own problem.

2 Likes

I managed to get this import to work on a 1M+ post forum. I noticed a few things.

1. Avatars are missing. After looking at the script, I don’t see a reference to avatars. Just to confirm, they aren’t imported?

2. Thread views are all 0. Is this how it’s supposed to be?

3. Guest posts (if a user account had been deleted and their username marked as guest in xenforo) all show up as “system.” Is there a way to at least make these all day “guest” instead of system? Does Discourse support posts not attributed to a registered account?