Discourse export assistance needed

I’m new to Discourse and have recently inherited a ownership/admin of small, older Discourse community. One of the things I need to do is perform an export of the community’s content: topics, replies, endorsements, associations (author, participants), etc. in CSV, XML or JSON.

As a platform novice, how would I go about securing this export? I’ve performed a site backup, but I can’t do anything with the sql file in the tar.gz that I received.

I’m currently on the Standard plan.

Thanks!
Charles

(Updated to include that my community is on Discourse.)

The first thing to do is search “#howto YOUR_OLD_COMMUNITY_SOFTWARE”. Then you look in https://github.com/discourse/discourse/tree/master/script/import_scripts. If you are coming from some platform that isn’t supported, the best course of action is to start with one of the existing import scripts. vbulletin might be a good starting point. If that’s not your style, then you can post in #marketplace. I generally do a few of these a month.

If you are coming from a popular forum, you can switch to the business plan, pay for a year up front, and get it done for free.

2 Likes

EDIT: @Charles.Dane Since you are using Discourse already, this is what you need to do:

Just download a backup and restore it to your new site.

You’ll need to contact support and have them restore it.

Hi Jay, appreciate for the response.

I just updated my post to specify the community I’ve inherited is already on Discourse.

Thanks for the advice to take a look at GitHub, I’ll see what I can find over there.

Cheers!

What do you want to accomplish with this?

Thanks for the response. My organization is in the process of investigating community platform options, and a review of the community’s content (in one of the three formats) will help us determine our overall scope of effort.