Discourse Like and/or Reply to reveal the post

What would you like done?

Hi, I’m a teacher so I need Discourse to have a “Like or Reply to reveal the post”, a plugin that requires user to like and/or reply in order to see the content
Something similar to this
https://github.com/erickguan/discourse-reply-required

(But the one above is deprecated and does not work with the current Discourse version)

Imagine it like this: The first post of a topic will be kind of like my question of the day, and students will need to reply in order to see the rest of the posts. I don’t want them to see other students’ replies before they submit their own answers. They need to work on the problem first, submit, and then check and vote for others

With the “Like” function in some other cases, I will post a lesson, then I want to see how many have viewed it so they will need to “Like” or love the post in order for the posts’ contents to appear

My students and I thank you for your help, and after coding you can post it up to Github for the community to use. I think this is a much needed feature!

When do you need it done?
ASAP
What is your budget, in $ USD that you can offer for this task?
10-30$

4 Likes

I have made this plugin, which is almost what you need: Discourse Private Replies - plugin - Discourse Meta

We can extend this plugin and add the unhide-by-reply feature but the cost will be around USD 300.

You could build a data-explorer query to check who viewed a certain topic and avoid having to misuse the “like” feature for this.

5 Likes

Thank you so much for replying! Wow such a revelation, I have heard about your plugin before but the way it is named made me think that it is for private messages, not topics. Cool to know now!

Ouff, 300$ at this point would be a huge amount for our budget. I know it might be fair for your part, but the exchange rate in our country makes this amount quite extreme and does not allow us to afford it. Thanks anyway.