Discourse subscriptions - changing price during recurring subscription

Continuing the discussion from Discourse Subscriptions:

Let’s say I have a recurring annual subscription of £100, which runs from 21 Jan 2022 to 20 Jan 2023, but want to change this to £110 when it renews. I know from Subscriptions: Change User's Plan - #2 by pfaffman that the answer is to cancel the current subscription and have use user resubscribe to the same product on a new plan. I can see the “x cancel” button on the /admin/plugins/discourse-subscriptions/subscriptions page.

I haven’t thought it through completely, but have some questions about this scenario:

1. What happens when I cancel the current subscription? I think that ends the subscription straight away and there is the option to refund the last payment in its entirety. That’s not what is needed.

2. Is there any way to keep the subscription going until its renewal date, and just cancel the auto-renewal?

3. Is the answer to diarise the renewal date for every subscriber and cancel the subscription the day before.

I guess in any case I would need personally to remind the subscriber about the cancellation and ask that renewal on the new plan be considered.

Let’s say that Stripe won’t let you.

You can do this on the stripe side of things and click something that says something like “cancel when it expires”.

You can do that and then hope that your subscribers will

1. notice that their subscription has expired
  2. figure out how to renew it
  3. not care that you’ve raised the price.

I think that if what you want to do is to make more money, then letting those subscriptions keep auto-renewing at the old price is going to yield lots more money than convincing them all to renew at a higher price. Knowing nothing about your community or product, I’d bet more people will auto-renew at $100 than would enter their credit card again to renew at $50.

Just create a new subscription at the new rate and hide the old one.