Email jobs failing due to smtpserverbusy

Recently upgraded to v2.1.0.beta4 +16

On entering admin today I get the message

Some problems have been found with your installation of Discourse:
There are 32 email jobs that failed. Check your app.yml and ensure that the mail server settings are correct. See the failed jobs in Sidekiq

First time I have seen anything like this (I’m fairly new to Discourse but have had a live Forum up for about 3 months) I know nothing about Sidekiq

After following the link there are 32 “Retries” listed all with different “Next Retry” but all identical

Jobs::UserEmail
{“type”=>“digest”, “user_id”=>6, “current_site_id”=>“default”}
Jobs::HandledExceptionWrapper: Wrapped Net::SMTPServerBusy: 451 Requested action aborted: local error in processing

I have no idea what has gone wrong only that all seemed to work with the previous version.

• How do I identify which user (id=6) this is affecting?
  • Do I just kill these entries or delete them?
  • Is there a fix to the problem?

I have also noticed in the Sidekiq report there are 30484 Processed and 272 Failed with no way of seeing the “Failed”

Any help appreciated

It’s Problem with your mail server. I think it’s the case that these errors are reported now. It’s probably not a new problem. They’ll get sent when sidekiq tries again.

3 Likes

Any other solution?
The count on Sidekiq has gone up to 41 all that seems to be happening is that it is rescheduling this one request over and over for the same user. No user has reported a problem with other emails.

Is there any way to lookup user id=6 so I can see who is being affected ?

I don’t know if it is related but have just looked at admin “error logs” and have found the following new entry

Message (416 copies reported)

Job exception: 451 Requested action aborted: local error in processing

### Backtrace