Habit tracking within Discourse...is it possible?

One of the Discourse instances I run is for an elementary school club that teaches life and career skills to kids in a rough and impoverished community. If interested, you can learn about the club at our web site.

Next month’s “Big Idea” is “build habits that serve your goals”. We’ll all be building habit trackers in our individual notebooks, but I’d like to add some sort of habit-tracking feature to our Discourse instance to help us see and support one another’s progress. One progress-reporting thread per student could work, but I was hoping to come up with something more visual, to report success/miss days on a user-specified habit, and to track participation on our Discourse in some way.

I’m an experienced coder and a passable sysadmin, but I’m trying to avoid custom coding here, as the person who will take over administering the site when I eventually move on is not that technical. So, I’d be up for tweaking an existing plugin if there were high confidence that my patches would be accepted upstream for long-term maintenance.

4 Likes

How do you see this habit tracking happening on Discourse. what would be your ideal user experience/flow?

1 Like

Two ideas:

Create a category Habit tracker and populate it with one event for each day of the month that applies to the new habit. So students can keep track together and are not separated into their single track record. You could also write some changing motivational text with each event topic:

Make things more visible and visual by rewarding students with custom badges. I could think of three steps depending on persistence:

And you could extend on these badges by introducing silver and gold lines for repeated participation.

4 Likes

These look good, let me share some extra spice to your contribution @nolo.