Implementing per-post IP logging

I think it’d be extremely helpful for site moderators if IPs were logged per-post.

I’m an admin on a forum that allows users to share accounts in some circumstances, and I recently ran into a problem moderation-wise after a shared account posted rulebreaking content; we weren’t able to confidently determine which user created the posts.

Along with this, being able to see the IP that a post came from can help in the instance a user’s account is compromised.

2 Likes

There is so much ire against ip tracking, and users sharing accounts seems like a real edge case, that I doubt that will happen, but you can find it in the production.log. You should be able you search for a string in the post to find out.

6 Likes

Wasn’t bunch of IP logging removed due to GDPR related concerns?

2 Likes

I remember something about that, which is why I think that the desire request will not likely be accepted, but I’m fairly certain that the rails logs have I’ll numbers.

2 Likes

No. IPs have nothing to do with GDPR. It matters only if the target is trying to identify users as persons — and that is close to impossible via IPs.

2 Likes

I’m not an expert on GDPR but I’ve heard a lot of fuss about the IP address being personal information and being a violation of GDPR.

2 Likes

And yet it is not nor has ever been :wink:

My IP is right now 84.230.91.162. If Meta will build up a system where they connect it to my name Jakke Lehtonen and using IP purposely (is that a word?) to identify myself that way, that database and use of IP-data falls under GDPR. But not IP per se.