Installing a git-based gem from a discourse plugin

First of all, I’m brand new to Ruby on Rails and Discourse plugin development, so if there’s a better direction, I’d appreciate it.

Overview

I have an internal Discourse plugin fork (discourse-ldap-auth) which I’m bringing in via a git clone. This plugin fork requires a Gem fork (omniauth-ldap) that I’m bringing in via Gemfile by appending the gem statement with an internal git url in the app’s after_bundle_exec hook. The app fails to start during rebuild because it can’t find the gem, even though the gem appears to install successfully earlier in the rebuild output.

Details

We have a long running internal Discourse instance where users were required to sign up with their corporate email. We recently added the discourse-ldap-auth plugin in order to use the same login as other intranet sites. This configuration works, but the prompts for users are confusing. Most other intranet sites require a username, but our Discourse instance requires an email address in order to associate it with any existing accounts. I would like to change the fields to prompt for an email address.

omniauth-ldap, which seems to be where the form text comes from, doesn’t have support for customizing fields like other Discourse plugins. I have forked this (and discourse-ldap-auth) internally in order to add calls to i18n.t with the hope that I’ll be able to customize the fields since they’re region specific now. The fork is called omniauth-ldap-i18n. I’ve added this to my app.yml to get the omniauth-ldap fork into the Gemfile:

hooks:
  after_bundle_exec:
    - exec:
        cd: $home
        cmd:
          - echo "gem 'omniauth-ldap-i18n', git:'https://internal-git-service/omniauth-ldap-i18n.git'" >> Gemfile
          - su discourse -c 'bundle config unset deployment'
          - su discourse -c 'bundle install --no-deployment --path vendor/bundle --jobs 4 --without test development'

Inside the discourse-ldap-auth fork’s plugin.rb: