Mail-receiver relay access denied

Trying hard to enable replies by email using the mail-receiver container. I consistently get errors:

NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from ... 454 4.7.1 <...>: Relay access denied

Why is this? How can I get into the mail-receiver container and examine the postfix config and debug it? I have disabled the postfix server on the system on which this is running, because of clash with port 25. Is that wrong?

I am reasonably sure DNS MX records are right, and this happens from any server sending mail inbound, I am using Amazon SES for outbound in the app container and that works fine.

I am a Discourse newbie and I dont know how to debug the ecosystem. I am an expert in postfix, but I don’t know how to configure it in this containerized universe.

First thing first, if You already have a postfix instance running, You don’t really need the mail receiver container.

You can configure postfix as an email receiver for the replies email and configure discourse to poll that email.

This #howto from 2014 shall give you enough idea to get started and I assume you can figure postfix on your own.

I don’t agree with this at all, the benefit of the mail-receiver is that emails are pushed via the API, rather than polled. There’s a significant difference in the time taken for email to arrive in Discourse using the mail-receiver (minutes versus seconds).

There’s also a huge difference in simplicity in configuration, mail-receiver requires three lines of a yml file be updated, the postfix OOBE requires… more.

That error implies the mail domains don’t match.

As you’re obfuscating parts of the message we can’t easily troubleshoot this for you.

1 Like