Moving to Another VPS Provider

First of all I should express my gratitude for such a lovely platform. I enjoyed using Discourse every moment and I wish moving to another platform is not the only option.

We have a small brewing community in Turkey, at craftbeertr.com and we have been using discourse happily for the last 3-4 years. Although we have ~500 users, the number of active users is much smaller, but lots of people follow and learn from the forum without starting a membership.

We try to stay independent and therefore have to share the expenses among a very small group of people and as our money had lost a great deal of its value to foreign currencies, it become a little expensive for us to maintain our expenses. Hence, I thought moving to another platform might be a solution with keeping the identities. As a newbie forum admin I do not have the slightest idea whether this would be possible or not. I Googled but couldnā€™t find something useful.

Maybe this is not the right place to ask this but I couldnā€™t come up with a better idea.

Any recommendations to solve this dilemma? We are using Ocean serversā€¦ Any cheaper options possible? Will it be possible to decrease the cost if we try to keep using Discourse? Which platform will you suggest?

Apologies in advance if this is not the topic you want to be in this forum. Thank you very much for your help.

3 Likes

What is your budget for hosting and whatā€™s your rough spend on Digital Ocean?

Itā€™s possible that you can get by with smaller servers that what youā€™re using.

5 Likes

what about self hosting from your house? whatā€™s your internet like?

i self host a bunch of stuff from a ā€˜hyper-convergedā€™ machine in my basement.

2 Likes

This might be your low cost solution - running it at your home with a raspi and your own internet -

2 Likes

Hetzner or Contabo?:

3 Likes

Hi,

I visited your forum, nice job. :clap:

You can try AWS EC2 with Reserved Instances + upront payment.