[newbie] Trouble adding script to dynamically change CSS values based on conditions

I’m very new to the world of Discourse so please bear with me if this is a question that has been answered a million times.

I’ve created a script that needs to run each time the user navigates to the homepage or the categories page. Currently I am attempting to run it through the Customize > HTML/CSS > Head using <script> tags. I check for DOM load completion, but it looks like Discourse has a very unique way of loading pages as you navigate around the forum.

Refreshing the categories page executes the script, but after navigating to another page, then back to the categories, the script fails to run.

I’ve tried creating a plugin to see if it would work better that way (I got the example alert() plugin working, woo!), but I just don’t quite understand how to utilize everything that’s available.

Any suggestions on how to get a script to run each time I navigate to the categories page?

If you need more information to understand what I’m asking for, please let me know. Sometimes my wording makes sense to me, but not to everyone else!

Thanks!

Yes, Discourse uses internal navigation, so the DOM will only be ready once.

@cpradio suggested a possible solution here:

3 Likes

Thank you for the quick reply, @fefrei! I will try his suggestion out in morning and report back!

Alright, I placed the code that @cpradio suggested in a CSS/HTML Customization page under the tab, but unfortunately it doesn’t seem to be working. Just to prove the concept, I have it try to display an alert. Below is the exact code I am using:

<script type="text/discourse-plugin">

import { withPluginApi } from 'discourse/lib/plugin-api';

function initializePlugin(api)
{
  api.onPageChange((url, title) => {
        alert('test');
  });
}

export default {
  name: 'align-category-text',
  initialize: function(container)
  {
    withPluginApi('0.1', api => initializePlugin(api));
  }
};

</script>