Per-user configurable "Like" functionality (visibility)

Dear Discourse Dev team and Discourse admin/user community,

In the community for which I am an admin, we recently had a quite lengthy and at times very philosophical discussion as to the utility/value of the “Like” (button and “Likes”) functionality.

While we haven’t done any official polling yet, I’d expect a roughly 50/50 split on whether users would like to keep it visible (and be able to give and receive Likes) or hide this (not seeing the Like button, and also not seeing any likes received on any post/message).

My question now is how difficult it would be to make this a user-configurable setting (similar to how users can decide on whether they see the forum as a flat list of topics vs. categories for instance)?

Since I haven’t yet looked at the source code, it’s not all that easy for me to understand how complicated this might be, but I believe that, at least for our community, such a feature would be helpful, such that users who really enjoy (if not rely on) the Like button being available to express a kind of “After reading this post, I agree with what you said” sentiment can keep it, whereas other who see it as a sort of social engineering and “chase-after-approval” function can remove it from their experience altogether…

Thank you for considering this request! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Removing the like button for all users on the site seems like it would be fairly straightforward, but would require a lot of customization to the site’s layout. These types of customizations can break Discourse if the base layout gets changed in a Discourse update.

Only removing the like functionality for some users, so that they could neither like posts or have their posts liked seems like it would be a difficult project.