Please stop closing forums and moving people to Discord

https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=28549739

Huge discussion on Hacker News, with discourse mentioned lot of times.

With the noble goal of discourse and COVID pandemic discourse can play a bigger role in this world.

There have been posts directly from founders asking for what can be improved, the above discussion has a decent number of suggestions/complaints

one of them being having to reload on new topic.

11 Likes

You just hit the notification and new topics are added to the topic list without a page reload?

2 Likes

Nah, no founders in there just me.

8 Likes

The dreaded

1 Like

And Thank you for that :slight_smile:

1 Like

That’s dreaded?! People need some real hardship in their lives! :smiley:

As a developer I appreciate the elegance of that solution: it’s convenient for the user whilst at the same time the server doesn’t have the cost of streaming new topics to all open browsers, most of which might be unattended.

11 Likes

Latest didn’t get enough love and thats why chat platforms like discord and slack are replacing forums which as discussed in hacker news post is not good, one main reason being quick response at the expense of repetitive questions and knowledge struck in search queries

1 Like

What do you mean by that?

1 Like

The advantage of chat platforms is quick replies which in discourse equivalent is latest posts, if that needs reload friction to get answers to new posts is high.

1 Like

It’s not just because of latest not getting enough love, people are moving to chat like platforms ranging from hosting issues to ancient UI (thanks to Discourse air theme now we have rounded edges )

Your reply took 30 minutes: how much were you delayed by Discourse? :wink: I don’t see how a chat medium would have helped?

1 Like

:slight_smile: I was writing detailed answer on what can be improved but felt it’s tangential to the topic and sent a smaller text