Possibility to lock a topic to a specific user only + staff members

It would be great if the following was achievable. I note that I’m new to Discourse.

Here’s my use case. We use Discourse for a closed forum among a small team that coordinate a bigger initiative within an institution. We have contributors outside of the coordinating team who would discuss a proposal with all team members, but not with other contributors. We’d like to create a new topic and lock access and visibility of that topic to only a specific user and all team members so that they can discuss it.

Something like the *nix file system where I’d give read/write for a topic to root + specific group, but not world. Or role-based permissions in other web systems.

As far as I’ve seen, the default Discourse permission system is based on trust levels, not roles, and it doesn’t allow me to create roles with specific permissions.

Is there some plugin or way I could make Discourse achieve the above?

p.s. I could probably live with creating a new category per topic if needed, though that would create a lot of different categories that only have one topic.

1 Like

Yes – group messages! Have the contributors write a message to the group of the coordinating team. If you want, you can even set up incoming mail support for this group, so contributors without an account can interact with your team by writing emails :slight_smile:

Create a group, add the team members and update the setting Who can message and @mention this group? on the group page to get started.

4 Likes

That sounds like it should do the trick - it would be great to use Discourse for all comms we have. Can a group include other groups, or only members? (it would be ideal if I could have a “staff” group, and then create new groups for each new topic to include “staff” and a particular user, since the “staff” group may change membership in time.

No, but I don’t see why you would need that.