Reload currentUser object

I’m in the midst of working on a plugin that has me changing the values in a custom_field that are used to calculate a few user methods. I’m then passing those methods to the current user serializer.

In the process I have an ajax call that updates one of these user custom_fields. But that doesn’t update the currentUser object on the front-end. I’m still a bit new to Ember but is there a way to reload that currentUser object?

This may be a bit difficult to follow. Here’s the source code I’m currently working with:

https://github.com/joebuhlig/discourse-feature-voting

1 Like

You can add a callback on the Ajax call to update the state of the object client side. :smile:

Makes sense. I get the callback process. And I can do a reload of the topic model. But how do you do that on the current user object? Or are you talking editing the object property?

I would change is so Ajax call returns all the info needed to update current user and then update it with that info

1 Like

I think we posted at the same time, Sam. :wink:

That makes sense, I think. So I can calculate the new property value server side and then edit the object client side to match the server side?

2 Likes

Can anyone help with how to do this?

In particular, if user is a user model on the JS client side, and there were no custom fields for the user in question when their model was loaded, then user.custom_fields is null and I can’t work out how to turn it into the right type of object to then be able to add the new values to it.

Is this for the current user?

For the voting plugin I had to add methods to the model for each custom field I wanted to display client side. That allowed me to add the custom fields to the current user serializer which made it possible to use them client-side.

From there, you can update the user object on the client after the ajax call has completed: