Reply settings by category

What would you like done?

I would like to have differing reply settings by category. For example, we have a classified category and we want replies to be to poster only, not to the entire forum.

We have other categories e.g. asking for a recommendation when I would like the reply choice of Reply privately, or Reply to all.

The help desk suggested I post here to see if someone could write a component to do this. I am completely new to discourse, so hoping this makes sense.

When do you need it done? Ideally in the next week or so.

What is your budget, in $ USD that you can offer for this task? Don’t know how much to offer. As have no idea how long it will take.

2 Likes

Hey there Iris,

Before I follow up with a quote, I might need your help in understanding a bit more about what you want to do. This will help us understand the next best step. Sometimes it turns out that you can achieve a goal without doing any custom work.

This is what I’ve understood from your post. Please correct me if I’m wrong.

You want a category where:

• Anyone can post
  • Only certain group of people can reply
  • Only the person who posted, and the people in the group that can reply, can see the replies.

You want a category where:

• Anyone can post
  • Anyone can reply
  • You can reply privately or reply publicly.

Is that right? Are there any other configurations you’re after?

2 Likes

Hi, thanks for clarifying. I want three category types actually:

1. As today: You reply and it goes to everyone (I’m not really using user groups, not relevant to my forum)

2. Anyone can post. Anyone can reply. But all replies are private, but it is not possible to reply publicly

3. As you wrote: anyone can post, anyone can reply, you can reply privately or reply publicly

tx a million.

Bronwyn

1 Like

Great, thanks for clarifying.