Restoring from backup failing: failure creating postgres index

Hi all,

I’ve been running Discourse painlessly for several years.

Today, I tried doing a web ui upgrade from the 2.4.0beta-something version I was running to the current (2.5.0beta5). This… did not go well. I did not take good notes, but it seemed like postgres was not starting up correctly due to the postgres data directory not being owned by the correct user.

I thought I would try cloning my old containers/app.yml to app2 and restoring from a backup. The new container built and I followed instructions for running a command-line backup (Restore a backup from the command line). “discourse restore ” fails with

ERROR:  could not create unique index "index_incoming_referers_on_path_and_incoming_domain_id"
DETAIL:  Key (path, incoming_domain_id)=(//viewer/, 16) is duplicated.
EXCEPTION: psql failed: DETAIL:  Key (path, incoming_domain_id)=(//viewer/, 16) is duplicated.
/var/www/discourse/lib/backup_restore/database_restorer.rb:95:in `restore_dump'
/var/www/discourse/lib/backup_restore/database_restorer.rb:26:in `restore'
/var/www/discourse/lib/backup_restore/restorer.rb:49:in `run'
script/discourse:143:in `restore'
/var/www/discourse/vendor/bundle/ruby/2.6.0/gems/thor-1.0.1/lib/thor/command.rb:27:in `run'
/var/www/discourse/vendor/bundle/ruby/2.6.0/gems/thor-1.0.1/lib/thor/invocation.rb:127:in `invoke_command'
/var/www/discourse/vendor/bundle/ruby/2.6.0/gems/thor-1.0.1/lib/thor.rb:392:in `dispatch'
/var/www/discourse/vendor/bundle/ruby/2.6.0/gems/thor-1.0.1/lib/thor/base.rb:485:in `start'
script/discourse:284:in `<top (required)>'
/usr/local/lib/ruby/gems/2.6.0/gems/bundler-2.1.4/lib/bundler/cli/exec.rb:63:in `load'
/usr/local/lib/ruby/gems/2.6.0/gems/bundler-2.1.4/lib/bundler/cli/exec.rb:63:in `kernel_load'
/usr/local/lib/ruby/gems/2.6.0/gems/bundler-2.1.4/lib/bundler/cli/exec.rb:28:in `run'
/usr/local/lib/ruby/gems/2.6.0/gems/bundler-2.1.4/lib/bundler/cli.rb:476:in `exec'