Show a user's reputation/user level next to their name

First of all, I’ve been using discourse for about a couple of years now (since the pre 1.0 days). Great product and our community loves it.

My only gripe with it is that it doesn’t show any kind of statistics/reputation next to the person’s name. Right now it appears that everyone is at the same level; there’s no way to tell apart between the guy who’s been consistently posting for two years and a guy who just signed up yesterday.

I know that @codinghorror doesn’t want to go the typical forum route where they list “meaningless” stats such as number of posts created. While I understand that argument, I do want to show something next to the username so that others know who they’re dealing with. Perhaps display a user level, some kind of badge, etc.

I saw previous discussions relating to this, but they all seemed to have died down in 2013/2014.

Is something like this in the pipeline?

5 Likes

Something like this when you click on the avatar or name?

2 Likes

Two problems with this approach:

1. It’s not easily visible. I want to look at a thread and quickly see who’s who without clicking on the user’s name.

It also took me sometime to realize that you can actually click on the username. I bet most users don’t bother clicking unless they need to contact the user for something.

1. User levels (i.e., Member) as a metric are too coarse. I have users that are in Level 0, 1 and 2. Most of the active users are at Level 2. It doesn’t tell me anything when most of the active threads are being discussed by Level 2 people.

I think displaying something right next to the user’s avatar is the ideal solution. When I browse other forums, the user’s reputation/# of posts/custom label is the first thing that catches my eye when I try to figure out who the user is.

4 Likes

I take it your forum has been online for somewhere between 20 and 45 days, then?